Change Indicator

MCAS (Legacy) 3rd grade English language arts by school district (2001-2016) in Massachusetts

MCAS (Legacy) 3rd grade English language arts by school district (2001-2016)

Downloading image...


Definition and Source



MCAS – The Massachusetts Comprehensive Assessment System, a standardized test administered to students in grades 3-12. A small number of students with the most significant disabilities who are unable to take the standard MCAS tests even with accommodations participate in the MCAS Alternate Assessment (MCAS-Alt). 

Below Proficient – Score of "Needs Improvement" or "Warning/Failing".
Proficient or Advanced – Score of “Proficient” or “Advanced”

N.A. – Data not available for this school district for this test result.

Data Source

3rd grade English Language Arts results from Mass. Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) Massachusetts School and District Profiles: MCAS Achievement Results.


District results include all from the district who were tested. Results for districts with more than one school include students enrolled for the entire academic school year. Results for districts that only operate a single school include all students tested in the district.

In 2015 and 2016, school districts had the option to administer either MCAS or the computer-based Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Career (PARCC) exam. In 2015, only a portion of students in grades 3-8 participated in 2015 MCAS in English Language Arts and Mathematics. DESE used a representative sample of students from across Massachusetts to estimate results at the state level in those subjects. In 2016, most students in grades 3-8 participated in the PARCC test instead of MCAS. There are no statewide MCAS results.

Starting in 2017, all students were tested using the “Next Generation” MCAS which blended material from MCAS and PARCC. 

Last Updated

June 2018