Change Indicator

Complaints filed against juveniles by offense type in North Carolina

Complaints filed against juveniles by offense type

Downloading image...

Note: Non-consecutive years appear adjacent in the trend line
because one or more years have been deselected.

Definition and Source



The total number of complaints, including status offenses, filed against juveniles ages 8 to 17.

  • Class A-E includes offenses classified as violent and are considered felonies.
  • Class F-I, A1 includes offenses classified as serious and are considered misdemeanors.
  • Class 1-3 includes offenses classified as minor and are considered misdemeanors.
  • Status includes offenses committed by juveniles ages 10 to 17 that are not crimes if committed by adults. The terms "status" and "undisciplined" are interchangeable.
  • Infraction refers to a non-criminal violation of law by juveniles ages 8 to 17, punishable by up to a $100 fine (e.g., motorcycle/moped violation, riding a bicycle/skating in a public area, etc.) at offense.
  • Total complaints refer to a charged offense, including violation of motor vehicle laws, that would be a crime under state law or an ordinance of local government if committed by an adult.


Juveniles may be duplicated when complaints are filed in multiple counties, or for multiple offenses.

During 2019 and 2021, legislative changes in North Carolina resulted in changes to the population groups served by the North Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. At the end of 2019 the population grew, as “Raise the Age” increased jurisdiction to include 16 and 17 year olds. In 2021 the population shrank, as “Raise the Floor” excluded juveniles under 10, except those charged with an A-G felony, from Juvenile Justice jurisdiction. Therefore, caution should be used when comparing data for years prior to 2022 with data for the years 2022 and later.

Data accessed July 2023.

Last Updated

September 2023