Change Indicator

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) recipients age birth to 19 in North Dakota

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) recipients age birth to 19

Downloading image...

Note: Non-consecutive years appear adjacent in the trend line
because one or more years have been deselected.

Why This Indicator Matters

show more

Definition and Source



This indicator represents the number of persons ages 0 through 19 who are eligible recipients of Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) and thus automatically eligible for Medicaid (see “Medicaid Recipients Ages 0 to 20” for a complete definition of the Medicaid program). TANF is a need-based income assistance program for families with children who need financial support because one parent is absent from the home, one parent is incapacitated, family income is within the program standards, or countable assets are within the program limits. TANF is not an entitlement program, and adult TANF recipients are limited to a lifetime total of benefits of no more than 60 months; however, the 60 months do not have to be consecutive months. Children who have received TANF benefits for 60 months may receive benefits when they are adults.

The denominator for the percentage is the total population ages 0 through 19 in respective geographic areas.

Data Source

Numerator: North Dakota Department of Human Services, Decision Support Services,
Denominator: U.S. Census populations with bridged race categories from the National Center for Health Statistics.


GEOGRAPHY - Data reflect the child’s place of residence.
DATE - Fiscal Year (July 1 - June 30).
NOTES - Beginning July 1, 1997, TANF replaced Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC). AFDC was an entitlement program that provided a monthly payment to parents or guardians on behalf of children who were defined as “dependent.” AFDC was funded by both the federal and state governments and was administered by the state. Children must have been found eligible to receive such assistance by criteria laid down in federal and state law. Eligible children included needy children who had been deprived of support or care because of death to a caregiver, continued absence of a caregiver from the home, underemployment or unemployment of the principal wage earner, or physical or mental handicap of a caregiver.

Data for state fiscal year 2020 and 2021 is not reported for four counties in the Dakota Central area (Mercer, McLean, Oliver, and Sheridan), as these counties had data matched to county of service rather than county of residence. 

Last Updated

June 2023