Change Indicator

Child care providers, by type in North Dakota

Child care providers, by type

Downloading image...


Why This Indicator Matters

show more

Definition and Source



The number of child care providers licensed, registered, or certified with the state.

 - This indicator represents individuals or facilities to whom the right, authority, or permission has been granted by the North Dakota Department of Human Services to operate a family child care home, group child care home or facility, child care center, preschool educational facility, school-age care, or multiple license facility. Child care providers who are licensed by the state and located on tribal lands are included in this category. 
Note: Starting in 2020, Licensed School Age care is in a separate category. Prior to 2020, school-age care was grouped with the Licensed category.

Standard Compliance Certification and In-Home - This indicator represents two types of non-licensed child care providers. Standard Compliance Certification, also referred to as Self-Certified, refers to child care providers who have completed an Affidavit of Standard Compliance and Child Care Provider Contract. This is a voluntary self-certification process for child care providers who are not licensed. In-Home child care providers offer child-care services in the child’s home. This is a voluntary registration process for child care providers who are not licensed. Child care providers meeting these criteria and located on tribal lands are included in this category.

Registered Tribal - This indicator represents tribal child care providers who are registered with the state of North Dakota, but are not licensed, self-certified, nor approved relatives. Authority to provide child care is provided by the Tribal Council or designated Tribal Agency.

Approved Relative - This indicator represents a type of non-licensed child care provider. By federal law, the approved relatives must be related by marriage, blood relationship, or appointed by court order. Approved relative providers include grandparents, great-grandparents, aunts, and uncles. A sibling who is age 18 or older and who does not live in the same home as the child for whom care is being provided can also become an approved relative. Approved relative child care providers located on tribal lands are included in this category.

Data Source

North Dakota Department of Human Services


UPDATED - February 2020 (Note: Data for 2021 is not reliably available due to a switch in data systems at the Department of Human Services)
GEOGRAPHY - Data reflect the location of the child care program. Providers matched to a tribal area or out-of-state are matched to the county of closest proximity.
DATE - Providers as of February 1 of reference year.

Last Updated

April 2022