Change Indicator

Third to eight-grade students achieved proficient or advanced score in the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) exams in Tennessee

  • Detailed
  • Sort / Rank

Definition and Source



The Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) is the standardized testing program used in public school in Tennessee. The TCAP achievement test is a timed, multiple choice assessment that measures skills in reading, language arts, mathematics, science and social studies. Data represent the percentage of students from 3rd to 8th grade who achieved Proficient or Advanced Score in TCAP exam.

Data Source

Tennessee Department of Education.


TCAP scores are published in 4 categories: Below Basic, Basic, Proficient and Advanced. Data reflect the students' percent who score proficient or advanced in TCAP exam. The reminder (100-present score) shows the students' percent who score basic or below basic in the exam. From 2016-17 the TCAP tests were replaced by TNReady tests.
From 2013-14 Shelby county school district has new name Shelby County (New) and no data are available for Shelby County-Memphis City.
From 2014-15 TCAP score on Social Studies are no longer available. 
NA = Not Available.

Last Updated

June 2016